What’s not in my diaper bag…a grocery list!

This weekend after a quick workout at the gym, I headed to the grocery store to pick up a few ingredients for dinner and staples for the next few days.  In my younger/single days I would go to the store without a list as I could remember everything I needed and wasn’t planning meals for a family.  These days we plan a few meals out for the week that can also yield some leftovers. Our crockpot has been getting tons of mileage as well as our Le Creuset dutch oven.  I am now realizing these were some of our best wedding presents.  The one pot meals have become the way to go in our family.

I decided to go shopping list free which was not the smartest idea. Working on a few hours of sleep and hungry post workout..I was wandering the aisles up and down without purpose.  I must have looked like a lost puppy dog or a mom of three children age two and under!  Without a plan of attack or menu in mind, I randomly picked up sweet potatoes, an onion, boneless chicken thighs, some broccoli, yogurt, milk, bread, ect.

I got home and started to google recipes for the crockpot which included ingredients such as chicken, sweet potatoes, and apples which I already had.  I came across this one…http://www.stockpilingmoms.com/2013/09/crockpot-chicken-with-apple-and-sweet-potato/

The only ingredient I was missing was ground ginger and I used sweetened applesauce because that was all I had in the pantry.  Also, we have been hooked on boneless chicken thighs lately rather than chicken breast.  Needless to say about 6 hours later it was a hit! My picky toddler ate his whole bowl and exclaimed “more food!”

Maybe I’m on to something here…being listless wasn’t such a bad thing!

Leave a Reply

